HGT Awards 2017

John Cox Memorial Trophy - Most Outstanding Apprentice

Winner               Lara Kirby - Sandalford Wines                                                                        


Most Outstanding 1st Year Apprentice

Sponsored by Bidfood Fresh

 Winner  Zachery Tholen - The Shorehouse                                                                                                                                                           
Certificate of Merit            Alanah Fischer - White Salt
Finalists Jezzi Hatch - Seven Mile Inn
  Stuart Hawkins - C Restaurant
  Gillian Stokes - Maison Saint-Honore


 Most Outstanding 2nd Year Apprentice

Sponsored by Don Hancey - WA Food Ambassador

Winner Lara Kirby - Sandalford Wines                                                                                                                                       
Certificate of Merit   Tom Warner - Cantina 663
  Mackenzie Beurteaux - The Balmoral Hotel
  Sumitta Huangthai - InterContinental Perth City Centre


Most Outstanding Final Year Apprentice 

Sponsored by Australian Hotels Association (WA)

Winner            Sean Woolford - Hillary's Yacht Club                                                                                
Certificate of Merit        Dayna-Mae Motu - The Breakwater                                                                                                                                                               
Finalists Sarah Brunger - The Balmoral


Most Improved Apprentice 

Sponsored by Bidfood Fresh

Winner    Sarah Brunger - The Balmoral Hotel                              


School Apprentice of the Year

Sponsored by PFD Food Services

Winner                             Yasmine Yianni - Voyage Sorrento                                                                                                                                                                                                    
Finalists         Connor Frearson - The Balmoral Hotel
                                           Irene Pagsinohin - Dainty Dowager

School Trainee of the Year

Sponsored by Hospitality Group Training

Winner                       Nuraainaa Ramaran - The Brooklands Tavern                                                                                                                                                                    
Certificate of Merit        Tegan Cardosa - 43 Below
  Jaidyn Page - Dome Kalamunda
  Talia Sadak - Spudbar Fremantle

School Partnership Award 

Sponsored by AMA Apprenticeship and Traineeship Services

 Winner        Narrogin Senior High School                                                                             


Employer of the Year 

Sponsored by Australian Hotels Association (WA)

Winner C Restaurant                                             


Quiet Achiever Award

Sponsored by Margaret Johnson

Winner     Gillian Stokes - Maison Saint-Honore                                               


Ambassador Award

Sponsored by Tourism WA

Winner                             Tom Warner - Cantina 663                                                                                      


Without the generous support of our sponsors HGT would not be able to commend the efforts of our most promising apprentices and trainees as well as recognising the efforts of schools and employers in support of helping people launch their hospitality careers. Thank you to all 2017 HGT Award sponsors:

Contact Us

38 Parliament Place
West Perth 6005
Western Australia

T: +61 8 9481 1602
F: +61 8 9481 1603
Contact Us