HGT Awards 2018

John Cox Memorial Trophy - Most Outstanding Apprentice

Winner               Lara Kirby - Vasse Felix                                                                       


Most Outstanding 1st Year Apprentice

Sponsored by Bidfood Fresh

 Winner                                Simon Fathy - The Como (ALH Group)                                                                                                                                                        
Finalist Irene Pagsinohin - Kalamunda Hotel (ALH Group)


 Most Outstanding 2nd Year Apprentice

Sponsored by Don Hancey - WA Food Ambassador

Winners                      Zachery Tholen - The Shorehouse  & Alanah Fischer - Pan Pacific                                                                                                                             
Finalists Naw Bee Be - The Brooklands Tavern (ALH Group)
  Jezzi Hatch - Sandalford Wines
  Stuart Hawkins - Galileo Buona Cucina
  Micheal Shellback - The Camfield
  Jiann Woei Yeo - Pan Pacific


Most Outstanding Final Year Apprentice 

Sponsored by Australian Hotels Association (WA)

Winner            Mackenzie Beauteaux - The Balmoral (ALH Group)                                                                       
Finalists                   Lara Kirby - Vasse felix                                                                                                                                                               
  Holly Kolega - The Reverley


Most Improved Apprentice 

Sponsored by Restaurant and Catering

Winner    Jezzi Hatch- Sandalford Wines                                        


School Apprentice of the Year

Sponsored by PFD Food Services

Winner                             Naomi Velterop - White Salt                                                                           
Finalists         Cian Cross - The Marina, Mindarie
  Abigail Kemp - The Herdsman Lake Tavern (ALH)
  Sebastien Price - The Camfield                                                                                                                                                                                

School Trainee of the Year

Sponsored by Bars and More

Winner                       Robyn Maynard-Brewer - Young George                                                                                                                                                                
Finalist     Naomi Pearse - Raktacino

School Partnership Award 

Sponsored by AMA Apprenticeship and Traineeship Services

 Winner        Baldivis Secondary College                                                                                      


Employer of the Year 

Sponsored by Australian Hotels Association (WA)

Winner   InterContinental Perth City Centre                                            


Quiet Achiever Award

Sponsored by Margaret Johnson

Winner     Alicia Wright - The Westin                                                    


Ambassador Award

Sponsored by Reward Hospitality

Winner                             Zachery Tholen - The Shorehouse                                                                                      


Without the generous support of our sponsors HGT would not be able to commend the efforts of our most promising apprentices and trainees as well as recognising the efforts of schools and employers in support of helping people launch their hospitality careers. Thank you to all 2018 HGT Award sponsors:


Contact Us

38 Parliament Place
West Perth 6005
Western Australia

T: +61 8 9481 1602
F: +61 8 9481 1603
Contact Us